top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturerogerserika4

Delayed gratification

Updated: Mar 19, 2022

I like delayed gratification.


That is a good thing if you are a gardener.


It is of course fun to buy fully grown plants and have them instantly brighten a room, landscape a walkway, or jumpstart your vegetable garden, but growing things from seed or bulb is magical. It takes time, care, and optimism. It seems impossible and it does not always work. Each seed planted is like spinning the roulette wheel.



For a long time, I would simply buy a lot of seeds, scatter them and hope for the best. But this season, I am taking the time to carefully follow the directions, track germination, and experiment with light and moisture. It brings me back to my days in the lab. It reminds me of one of my favorite quotes, "The only difference between screwing around and science is science is writing it down"...stay tuned.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page